unischolars blog

IELTS: International English Language Testing System

The International English Language Testing System, commonly known as IELTS, is a globally recognised English language proficiency test designed to assess the language skills of individuals who plan to study, work, or migrate to English-speaking countries. Administered by the British Council, IDP: IELTS Australia, and Cambridge Assessment English, IELTS is widely accepted by universities, employers, and immigration authorities.

Key Features of IELTS

Test Modules

IELTS assesses candidates in four key language skills: Listening, Reading, Writing, and Speaking. The test is structured to provide a comprehensive evaluation of an individual’s ability to understand and use English in various contexts.

Academic and General Training Versions of IELTS

It offers two versions: Academic and General Training. The Academic version is intended for individuals applying to higher education institutions, while the General Training version is suitable for those seeking work experience or immigration purposes.


The Listening module evaluates candidates’ ability to understand spoken English in different situations, including everyday conversations and academic lectures. It comprises four sections with a variety of question types.


The Reading module assesses reading comprehension skills through passages of increasing complexity. It includes tasks such as multiple-choice, matching information, and identifying the writer’s opinions or arguments.


The Writing module consists of two tasks. Task 1 requires candidates to interpret and describe visual information, while Task 2 involves essay writing on a specific topic. The tasks assess the ability to express ideas coherently and develop arguments.


The Speaking test is a face-to-face interview with a certified examiner. It assesses the candidate’s ability to communicate effectively through a series of questions and tasks covering a range of topics. The Speaking test aims to evaluate spoken English proficiency in real-life situations.


Its scores are reported on a nine-band scale, with each band representing a level of proficiency, from non-user (band score 1) to expert (band score 9). The overall band score is an average of the scores obtained in each of the four modules.

Recognition and Validity

IELTS is recognised by educational institutions, employers, and immigration authorities worldwide. Many universities and colleges accept IELTS scores as proof of English language proficiency for admission, and employers often use IELTS results to assess language skills in the workplace. Additionally, immigration authorities in English-speaking countries may require IELTS scores as part of visa applications.

IELTS Preparation

Candidates often prepare for IELTS through various means, including preparatory courses, study materials, and practice tests. Familiarising yourself with the test format, improving language skills, and practising under timed conditions are common strategies for successful IELTS performance.

In conclusion, the exam plays a crucial role in assessing and validating English language proficiency for individuals pursuing academic, professional, or immigration goals. Its widespread recognition and comprehensive evaluation make it a widely accepted and respected tool in the realm of English language assessment.

A to Z Glossary Terms

Scroll to Top

Share this blog

IELTS: International English Language Testing System