Indian Institute of Science Raman Post-Doctoral Fellowship
Indian Institute of Science

Afghanistan,Albania,Algeria,Andorra,Angola,Antigua and Barbuda,Argentina,Armenia,Australia,Austria,Azerbaijan,Bahamas,Bahrain,Bangladesh,Barbados,Belarus,Belgium,Belize,Benin,Bhutan,Bolivia,Bosnia and Herzegovina,Botswana,Brazil,Brunei,Bulgaria,Burkina Faso,Burundi,Cabo Verde,Cambodia,Cameroon,Canada,Central African Republic,Chad,Chile,China,Colombia,Comoros,Congo,Costa Rica,Côte D’Ivoire,Croatia,Cuba,Cyprus,Czech Republic,Denmark,Djibouti,Dominica,Dominican Republic,Ecuador,Egypt,El Salvador,Equatorial Guinea,Eritrea,Estonia,Eswatini,Ethiopia,Faroe Islands,Fiji,Finland,France,Gabon,Gambia,Gaza,Georgia,Germany,Ghana,Greece,Grenada,Guatemala,Guinea,Guinea-Bissau,Guyana,Haiti,Holy See,Honduras,Hong Kong,Hungary,Iceland,India,Indonesia,Iran,Iraq,Ireland,Israel,Italy,Jamaica,Japan,Jordan,Kazakhstan,Kenya,Kiribati,Kosovo,Kuwait,Kyrgyzstan,Laos,Latvia,Lebanon,Lesotho,Liberia,Libya,Liechtenstein,Lithuania,Luxembourg,Madagascar,Malawi,Malaysia,Maldives,Mali,Malta,Marshall Islands,Mauritania,Mauritius,Mexico,Micronesia,Moldova,Monaco,Mongolia,Montenegro,Morocco,Mozambique,Myanmar,Namibia,Nauru,Nepal,Netherlands,New Zealand,Nicaragua,Niger,Nigeria,North Korea,North Macedonia,Norway,Oman,Pakistan,Palau,Panama,Papua New Guinea,Paraguay,Peru,Philippines,Poland,Portugal,Puerto Rico,Qatar,Romania,Russia,Rwanda,Saint Kitts and Nevis,Saint Lucia,Samoa,San Marino,Sao Tome and Principe,Saudi Arabia,Scandinavia,Senegal,Serbia,Seychelles,Sierra Leone,Singapore,Slovakia,Slovenia,Solomon Islands,Somalia,South Africa,South Korea,South Sudan,Spain,Sri Lanka,St. Vincent and Grenadines,State of Palestine,Sudan,Suriname,Sweden,Switzerland,Syria,Taiwan,Tajikistan,Tanzania,Thailand,Timor-Leste,Togo,Tonga,Trinidad and Tobago,Tunisia,Turkey,Turkmenistan,Tuvalu,United Arab Emirates,Uganda,United Kingdom,Ukraine,Uruguay,United States,Uzbekistan,Vanuatu,Venezuela,Vietnam,Yemen,Zambia,Zimbabwe
Ph.D. (Doctor of Philosophy)

Scholarship Overview

Indian Institute of Science (IISc) invites applications for Indian Institute of Science Raman Post-Doctoral Fellowship 2020 from PhD students. This fellowship is meant for motivated individuals with an established record of high-quality research. The selected fellows will receive a consolidated monthly stipend of INR 1 lakh and a research grant of INR 8 lakh per year.


The selected fellows will receive a consolidated monthly stipend of INR 1 lakh and a research grant of INR 8 lakh per year.


  • Curriculum Vitae 
  • Proposed research plan (up to 500 words)
  • PDF files of at least two and up to five important publications
  • Consent letter or email from the faculty member


To be eligible, an applicant must -

  • Be Overseas Citizen of India (OCI), Person of Indian Origin (PIO), and foreign national
  • Hold a PhD degree with first-class or equivalent in the preceding degree and a good academic record throughout
  • Be less than 32 years of age at the time of applying

Note: Candidates who are expecting to submit their PhD thesis shortly may also apply but their applications will be considered only after thesis submission. 

How To Apply

Eligible candidates can apply for the fellowship by following the steps mentioned below:

Step 1: Click on apply now to download the application form. 
Step 2: Fill in all required details and attach all supporting documents.
Step 3: Send the completed application along with supporting documents in a single PDF to the Registrar, Indian Institute of Science at with a copy to the chair of the department/centre in which the candidate would like to work and to the faculty member who is willing to host the candidate.